Winter School · Marne-la-Vallée · January 2012

The winter school (January 9-13, 2012) will be held in the Marne-la-Vallée campus.

Abstract

Discrete Fourier Analysis deals with discrete questions whose understanding depends on analytical techniques - in particular properties of a Fourier expansion.

One of the cleanest setup is the study of Boolean functions mapping the discrete cube {-1,1}^n to {-1,1}. Relating various properties of these functions is of fundamental interest in many areas including theoretical computer science, percolation and social choice theory. The theory of such Boolean functions combines sophisticated mathematical analysis with tools from combinatorics and probability.

The goal of the two courses is to give a glimpse of some of the main ideas, recent developments and open problems in this area.

Videos

  • Gil Kalai's first lecture on video
  • Elchanan Mossel's first lecture on video

Lectures

  • Gil Kalai: notes posted by Pierre Pansu on his blog: 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5.
  • Elchanan Mossel: notes of lectures 1 and 2 and half of lecture 5 written by Tomasz Tkocz and .pdf file of the beamer lectures 3, 4 and 5.

Photos

Unfocused pictures taken by a randomly chosen student.

Schedule

Slot\Day (Location) Mon 9 (IFI, F2) Tue 10 (Rabelais, A4) Wed 11 (Rabelais, A4) Thu 12 (Rabelais, A4) Fri 13 (Rabelais, A4)
09h-10h Coffee
10h-12h Kalai 1 Kalai 2 Kalai 3 Kalai 4 Kalai 5
12h-14h Lunch Lunch Lunch Lunch Lunch
14h-16h Mossel 1 Mossel 2 Mossel 3 Mossel 4 Mossel 5
16h-17h Closing and Coffee

Participants

Participant E-Mail Affiliation
Chafai, Djalil djalil.chafai@univ-mlv.fr U. Paris-Est Marne-la-Vallée
Fradelizi, Matthieu matthieu.fradelizi@univ-mlv.fr U. Paris-Est Marne-la-Vallée
Gozlan, Nathaël nathael.gozlan@univ-mlv.fr U. Paris-Est Marne-la-Vallée
Guédon, Olivier olivier.guedon@univ-mlv.fr U. Paris-Est Marne-la-Vallée
Roberto, Cyril cyril.roberto@univ-mlv.fr U. Paris Ouest Nanterre
Boissard, Emmanuel emmanuel.boissard@gmail.com U. Toulouse
Samson, Paul-Marie paul-marie.samson@univ-mlv.fr U. Paris-Est Marne-la-Vallée
Lecué, Guillaume guillaume.lecue@univ-mlv.fr U. Paris-Est Marne-la-Vallée - CNRS
Paseka, Olga paseka@physics.msu.ru Lomonosov Moscow State University
Fathi, Max max.fathi@ens.fr ENS Paris
Barthe, Franck barthe@math.univ-toulouse.fr U. Toulouse
Pajor, Alain Alain.Pajor@univ-mlv.fr U. Paris-Est Marne-la-Vallée
Peled, Shir shir.peled@cs.huji.ac.il The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Rossignol, Raphaël raphael.rossignol@ujf-grenoble.fr U. Joseph Fourier
Marsiglietti, Arnaud arnaud.marsiglietti@laposte.net U. Paris-Est Marne-la-Vallée
Champion, Julie julie.champion@math.univ-toulouse.fr U. Toulouse
Gur, Tom tom.gur@weizmann.ac.il Weizmann Institute of Science
Hillion, Erwan erwan.hillion@bris.ac.uk Bristol University
Giladi, Ohad giladi@math.jussieu.fr U. Paris VI
Kerkyacharian, Gerard kerk24@gmail.com LPMA
Boucheron, Stephane stephane.v.boucheron@gmail.com LPMA Paris-Diderot
Saffari, Bahman Bahman.Saffari@math.u-psud.fr Université Paris-Sud Orsay
Joly, Emilien ejoly@ens.fr ENS Paris
Nourdin, Ivan inourdin@gmail.com U. Paris 6 and U. Nancy 1
Racz, Miklos racz@stat.berkeley.edu UC Berkeley
Mieczkowska, Katarzyna kaska@amu.edu.pl Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznan
Peccati, Giovanni giovanni.peccati@gmail.com Luxembourg University
Witkowski, Marcin mw@amu.edu.pl Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznan
Łukasz, Witkowski lukwit@amu.edu.pl Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznan
Bartosz, Zaleski balzak@amu.edu.pl Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznan
Pansu, Pierre pierre.pansu@u-psud.fr U. Paris-Sud
Tamuz, Omer omer.tamuz@weizmann.ac.il Weizmann Institute of Science
Léonard, Christian christian.leonard@u-paris10.fr U. Paris-Ouest et U. Paris-Dauphine
Paolo, Battistotti paolo.battistotti@kcl.ac.uk King’s College of London
FRIEDLAND, Omer friedland@math.jussieu.fr U. Paris 6
Kim, Jaegil jkim@math.kent.edu Kent State University
Antoniuk, Sylwia antoniuk@amu.edu.pl Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznan
Shirgina, Natalia natalia.shirgina@gmail.com Lomonosov Moscow State University
Zakharov, Pavel pavel.n.zaharov@gmail.com Center for Theoretical Problems of Physicochemical Pharmacology RAS
Wolff, Paweł pwolff@mimuw.edu.pl University of Warsaw & Institute of Mathematics of the Polish Academy of Sciences
Neuwirth, Stefan stefan.neuwirth@univ-fcomte.fr U. de Franche-Comté
Manca, Luigi manca@univ-mlv.fr U. Paris-Est Marne-la-Vallée
Basil, Mason basil.mason@kcl.ac.uk King's College London
Oded, Regev odedrr@mailinator.com CNRS, ENS, Paris and Tel Aviv University
Huou, Benoit benoit.huou@ens.fr ENS Paris
Lehec, Joseph lehec@ceremade.dauphine.fr U. Paris-Dauphine
Deléaval, Luc deleaval@math.jussieu.fr U. Paris 6
Teng, Qin palmtenor@gmail.com ENS Paris
Maillard, Pascal pascal.maillard@upmc.fr Université Paris 6
Demeter, Kiss D.Kiss@cwi.nl CWI, Amsterdam
Louidor, Oren louidor@math.ucla.edu UCLA - dept of Math
Joulin, Alderic ajoulin@insa-toulouse.fr Universite de Toulouse
Siminelakis, Paris psiminelakis@gmail.com NTUA, CoReLab
Nguyen, Van Hoang vanhoang0610@yahoo.com Paris 6
Queffélec, Hervé Herve.Queffelec@univ-lille1.fr University of Lille 1
Jaming, Philippe Philippe.Jaming@gmail.com Université Bordeaux 1
Henard, Olivier olivier.henard@gmail.com U. Paris-Est, Cermics
Rohde, Angelika angelika.rohde@math.uni-hamburg.de Universitaet Hamburg
Rotem, Liran liranro1@post.tau.ac.il Tel Aviv University
Milman, Vitali milman@post.tau.ac.il Tel Aviv University
Abakumov, Evgeny evgueni.abakoumov@univ-mlv.fr Université Paris-Est Marne-la-Vallée
Youssef, pierre pierre.youssef@univ-mlv.fr Université Paris-Est Marne-la-Vallée
Cloez, Bertrand bertrand.cloez@univ-mlv.fr Université Paris-Est Marne-la-Vallée
Goreac, Dan Dan.Goreac@univ-mlv.fr Université Paris-Est Marne-la-Vallée

Practical informations

There is no registration fee.

Lodging

Be sure to book your hotel very early (at least a month in advance), since accommodations in Paris or near the university are difficult to find. It is recommended to select a hotel close to RER line A. Note that the suburb close to the campus is safe. On the other hand, consider that there is almost no night life!

Directions

The Paris-Est Marne-la-Vallée Campus (Cité Descartes) encompasses among other structures the ENPC (Ecole Nationale des Ponts et Chaussées) and the LAMA (department of mathematics of Paris-Est Marne-la-Vallée University, Copernic building). The Winter-school will take place in two places:

- On Monday: amphitheater F2 in the IFI building (N°7 on the map below) 2 minutes walking distance from the RER line A station Noisy-Champs: get off from the queue of the train when coming from Paris.

- From Tuesday to Friday: amphitheater A4 in the Rabelais buiding (N°5 on the map below) 10 minutes walking distance from the RER line A station Noisy-Champs: get off from the head of the train when coming from Paris.

The lunch will take place in a third place: the ENPC building (No N° on the map below).

mapwitharrows.pdf

RER line A

Coming from Paris by RER line A, get off the train at the station NOISY-CHAMPS. See the RATP website for RER/Métro connections and schedules.

General map of the area

Sponsors

winterschool2012.txt · Last modified: 2013/03/17 12:35 by CHAFAÏ Djalil
 
Recent changes RSS feed Donate Powered by PHP Valid XHTML 1.0 Valid CSS Driven by DokuWiki